Responsible research practice

As one of the world's leading research universities, The Australian National University is committed to the highest standards of research integrity.

The Australian National University Policy on the Responsible Practice of Research details the standards of research integrity expected of students and staff of the University, and the Procedures for Dealing with Allegations of Misconduct in Research.

Research Integrity Training is compulsory for ANU research students.

Research Integrity Advisors

Learn more about Research Integrity advisors and how they can assist you.

Person designated to receive formal complaints

The University has appointed the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research and Graduate Studies) as the Designated Person for the purposes of this procedure. The Designated Person (DP) will receive initial complaints or allegations of research misconduct.

The designated person is:

Professor Michael Cardew-Hall
Pro Vice-Chancellor (Innovation and Advancement)
+61 2 6125 0330
pvc.ia@anu.edu.au

General enquiries: researchintegrity@anu.edu.au

Research Misconduct Assessors

The DP refers the allegations of research misconduct to one of the Research Misconduct Assessors who considers the allegations to see if, on the material available:

  • the conduct that it is central to the substance of the allegations, if proven,  would amount to research misconduct; and
  • whether a prima facie case of research misconduct exists

Professor Francesca Merlan
School of Archaeology and Anthropology 
+61 2 6125 8228
francesca.merlan@anu.edu.au

Professor Graham Farquhar 
Research School of Biology
+61 2 6125 3743
graham.farquhar@anu.edu.au

Professor Janette Lindesay
The Fenner School of Environment & Society
02 6125 4921
Janette.Lindesay@anu.edu.au

Professor Ariel Heryanto
School of Culture, History and Language
02 6125 3377
ariel.heryanto@anu.edu.au

Professor Scott Keogh
Research School of Biology
02 6125 0641
scott.keogh@anu.edu.au

Professor Nicolas Peterson
College of Arts and Social Sciences
02 6125 4727
Nicolas.Peterson@anu.edu.au