Peter Baume Award

Named after former ANU Chancellor, Professor the Hon. Peter Baume AC, this is the University's most prestigious award.

The Peter Baume Award recognises eminent achievement and merit of the highest order.

2023 nominations for this award are open from 1 September 2023 to 9 October 2023. 


Staff, students and alumni of the University whose contributions to the economic, cultural, scientific or social development of Australia or the international community has demonstrated eminent achievement and merit of the highest degree are eligible for the Award.

Nomination Process

The Deputy Vice-Chancellors, Pro Vice-Chancellors, College Deans and Directors of Service Divisions are invited to submit names of potential recipients with supporting documentation for the initial consideration of the Vice-Chancellor.

Staff or Student Associations are encouraged to submit nominations through the relevant College Dean or Service Division. The Vice-Chancellor may, at his discretion, request that a formal proposal be developed for consideration by the Chancellor's Awards Committee.

Nominations should be submitted on the Chancellor's Award Nomination Form and will require the Primary Sponsor to provide the following:

  • Supporting statement addressing the eligibility criteria (maximum 500 words total)
  • Brief summary of achievements that can be used as part of the citation to be read on presentation of the Award by the Chancellor, if the nomination is successful (maximum 150 words, of the total 500 words)

Supporting statements should use clear, accessible and concise language, avoiding excessive use of technical words, academic or industry terminology and acronyms.

Nomination forms can be downloaded from the Chancellor’s Awards webpage. Nominations should be submitted as a single PDF document to, by no later than 5pm on the advertised closing date.

Awards process

It is expected that one award will be made each year; however, more will be awarded if the calibre of candidates is exceptional in any given year.

The awards will be presented at the celebratory Vice-Chancellor’s Annual Awards event in the same year and all nominees and sponsors will be invited.  All award recipients will be published on the Chancellor’s Awards webpage.

Further information

For further information please contact

Citations for each of the past recipients are linked from the awards recipients below.


*Due to the high calibre of nominations, there were two recipients for this award.

Year Name Citation/More information
2023* Distinguished Professor Susan Scott More information
  Professor Carola Vinuesa More information
2022 Distinguished Professor Hilary Charlesworth  
2021 Distinguished Professor John Braithwaite  
2020 Professor Margaret Jolly Citation
2020 Emeritus Professor Rodney Baxter Citation
2019 Professor Barry Pogson Citation
2018 Emeritus Professor Frank Jackson Citation
2017 Distinguished Professor Amin Saikal, AM Citation (PDF, 324KB)
2016 Professor Susanne von Caemmerer Citation (PDF, 69KB)
2016 Professor Robert Goodin Citation (PDF, 68KB)
2015 Not awarded  
2014 Professor Kenneth Freeman Citation (PDF, 211.38 KB)
2013* Professor David Chalmers Citation (PDF, 78.85 KB)
  Professor Desmond Ball Citation (PDF, 60.41 KB)
2012 Emeritus Professor Aidan Byrne Citation (PDF, 110.42 KB)
2011* Professor James Williams AM More information
  Professor Graham Farquhar More information
2010 Professor Brian Schmidt More information
2009 Professor John Gibson More information
2008 Professor Brian Kennett More information
2007 Professor Yuri Kivshar More information
2006* Professor Chennupati Jagadish More information
  Professor Andrew Cockburn More information
2005 Not awarded  
2004 Professor Brian Anderson More information


Page owner: Human Resources