The Peter Baume Award

The Peter Baume Award is the University's highest award for exceptional staff members and Alumni of the University whose contributions to the economic, cultural, scientific or social development of Australia or the international community have demonstrated distinguished service of the highest degree.

Emeritus Professor Aidan Byrne

Professor Byrne completed his BSc and MSc degrees at the University of Auckland before commencing a PhD degree at the ANU in 1981 in the Department of Nuclear Physics in the Research School of Physical Sciences. Following the completion of his PhD degree he held positions with the University of Melbourne and spent over two years in Bonn, Germany as a von Humboldt Fellow. He returned to the ANU in 1989 as a Research Fellow in Nuclear Physics and in 1991 commenced a joint appointment between the Department of Physics, in the Faculty of Science and the Department of Nuclear Physics, Research School of Physical Sciences and Engineering. He was Head of the Department of Physics in the Faculties from 2003 to 2007, and in 2007 he was appointed to the role of Dean of Science and Director of the College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences.

Professor Byrne has been a highly published and cited researcher in nuclear science, an extremely influential researcher in nuclear physics, both in Australia, but also internationally, and is well known for his ground-breaking research into nuclear structure. More broadly he has been a pioneer in the application of nuclear techniques to the analysis of materials and in his public articulation of the benefits of nuclear science to our community. Throughout his career at ANU he has been continually involved in science education and been a passionate advocate for new and innovative approaches to science teaching.

Until recently Professor Byrne was the Director and Dean of the ANU College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences, he has since taken up the position of CEO of the Australian Research Council in July this year.

Citation read at the Conferring of Awards Ceremony for the ANU College of Physical & Mathematical Sciences, ANU College of Medicine, Biology and Environment and ANU College of Engineering & Computer Science on 13 December 2012, on presentation of the Award by the Chancellor.