Media training - essential media

Provider business unit: Strategic Communications team »

Strategic Communications and Public Affairs (SCAPA) runs regular free media skills workshops for ANU staff and postgraduate (research) students.

These workshops give you an insight into how the media works, what journalists want from you and the benefits to academics from engaging with the media.

The workshops provide practical sessions on interview scenarios for radio and TV in the ANU media studio; social media, featuring a live tweeting exercise; and field videography for media broadcast.

Upcoming sessions:

Most of the sessions will be held in the Ross Hohnen Room in the Chancelry, East Road, ANU, except for the Wednesday 30 May session which will be held in the Mills Room within the Chancelry.

Morning tea will also be offered. Please register at the links below:

Thursday 22 February – 9am -12.30pm

Thursday 22 March – 9am -12.30pm

Thursday 26 April – 9am -12.30pm

Wednesday 30 May – 9am -12.30pm

Friday 22 June – 9am -12.30pm

Friday 27 July – 8.30am -12pm*

Wednesday 29 August – 9am -12.30pm

Friday 5 October – 9am -12.30pm

Wednesday 31 October – 9am -12.30pm

Friday 30 November – 8.30am -12pm*

*Indicates an earlier start time on these days

Any queries please phone 6125 7979 or email