Policy news: Research Training Program scholarships policy and procedure

30 June 2017

ANU’s new Research Training Program (RTP) Scholarship Policy and Procedure is now in effect, meeting Australian Government requirements (the Commonwealth Scholarships Guidelines (Research) 2017) that all universities develop a single RTP Policy by 30 June 2017.

Last year the Australian Government implemented changes to research block grant (RBG) arrangements for universities from 2017, establishing two new streamlined programs for higher degree research students; the RTP, and the Research Support Program (RSP).

The RTP scheme supports domestic and overseas students undertaking higher degrees by research while the RSP supports the systemic cost of research for universities.

The RTP Scholarship policy and procedure is intended as a transitional document for the purposes of the distribution and award of RTP scholarships from 2017. For the most part, it follows the requirements of the previous Australian Postgraduate Awards (APA) and International Postgraduate Research Scholarships (IPRS) program guidelines (both replaced by the RTP).

For further information and advice please contact the Office of the Dean, Higher Degree Research.