Chancellor's Award for Outstanding Service to the Campus Community

The Chancellor's Award for Outstanding Service to the Campus Community recognises outstanding contributions to the life of the campus community.

This award recognises voluntary and sustained contributions, over and above what might reasonably be expected in the course of duty, which enhance the general welfare and life of the campus and benefit the institution as a whole.

2023 nominations for this award are open from 1 September 2023 to 9 October 2023. 


Staff and visiting fellows who have volunteered their time, expertise, skills and knowledge over several years, and who have demonstrated exceptional dedication and service to the campus community beyond the normal expectations of their position are eligible for this award.

Nomination Process

The Deputy Vice-Chancellors, Pro Vice-Chancellors, College Deans and Directors of Service Divisions are invited to submit names of potential recipients with supporting documentation for the initial consideration of the Vice-Chancellor.

Staff or Student Associations are encouraged to submit nominations through the relevant College Dean or Service Division. The Vice-Chancellor may, at his discretion, request that a formal proposal be developed for consideration by the Chancellor's Awards Committee.

Nominations should be submitted on the Chancellor's Award Nomination Form and will require the Primary Sponsor to provide the following:

  • Supporting statement addressing the eligibility criteria (maximum 500 words total)
  • Brief summary of achievements that can be used as part of the citation to be read on presentation of the Award by the Chancellor, if the nomination is successful (maximum 150 words, of the total 500 words)

Supporting statements should use clear, accessible and concise language, avoiding excessive use of technical words, academic or industry terminology and acronyms.

Nomination forms can be downloaded from the Chancellor’s Awards webpage. Nominations should be submitted as a single PDF document to, by no later than 5pm on the advertised closing date.

Awards process

Up to five awards may be made each year.

The awards will be presented at the celebratory Vice-Chancellor’s Annual Awards event in the same year and all nominees and sponsors will be invited. 

Further information

For further information please contact

Citations for each of the past recipients are linked from the awards recipients below.


*Due to the high calibre of nominations, there were two recipients for this award in 2023

Year Name Citation/More information
2023* Mr Brett Morrison (individual recipient)  

Community Connect Team (team recipient)


Ms Ash Dowling

Mr Darren Hastie

Ms Madhur Chhabra 

Mr Sushant Rijal

Miss Mirah Larkin

2022 Mr Lucas Owen  
2021 Professor Tracy Smart   
  Ms Patricia Teh  
2020 Associate Professor Anna Cowan Citation
2019 Mr Neill Daly Citation
2018 Ms Anne Martin Citation
2017 Emeritus Fellow Colin Steele Citation (PDF, 322KB)
2016 Professor Margaret Jolly Citation (PDF, 56KB)
2015 Not awarded  
2014 Dr Alastair Grieg  
2013 Professor Robin Stanton Citation (PDF, 60.23 KB)
2012 Ms Diane Hutchens Citation (PDF, 35.52 KB)
2011 Associate Professor Alex Clarke  
2010 Mrs Nancy Sever  
2009 Mr Keith Conley  
2008 Associate Professor Selwyn Cornish More information
  Mr Warwick Williams  
2007 Professor John Richards More information
2006 Not awarded  
2005 Professor Phillipa Weeks  
  Mr Kevin Lonsdale  
2004 Dr Richard Barwick  
  Env.Mgnt. Plan/ANUgreen Program  


Page owner: Human Resources