Human Ethics Committees & Dates

The submission deadlines for new ethics applications depends on the risk category of the research to be reviewed. (See FAQ “What is the risk level of my research?”).

Full Review research

The Human Research Ethics Committee assesses high-risk applications and research with vulnerable populations, such as research involving Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander peoples. They meet on the last Friday of each month (except December). In order for your application to be processed, reviewed, and assessed at this meeting, you must submit and finalise your application before the deadline dates listed.

> 2020 HREC Submission Deadlines 

Meeting No.

Deadlines for Applications (5pm)

Meeting Date

Meeting 1

Tuesday 14 January

Friday 31 January

Meeting 2

Tuesday 11 February

Friday 28 February

Meeting 3

Tuesday 10 March

Friday 27 March

Meeting 4

Tuesday 7 April

Friday 24 April

Meeting 5

Tuesday 12 May

Friday 29 May

Meeting 6

Tuesday 9 June

Friday 26 June

Meeting 7

Tuesday 14 July

Friday 31 July

Meeting 8

Tuesday 11 August

Friday 28 August

Meeting 9

Tuesday 8 September

Friday 25 September

Meeting 10

Tuesday 13 October

Friday 30 October

Meeting 11

Tuesday 10 November

Friday 27 November

 

 

Expedited, Level 2 (E2) research

E2 applications are reviewed by one of three Delegated Ethical Review Committees (DERCs). These committees meet fortnightly.

Humanities & Social Sciences Delegated Ethical Review Committee

The Humanities & Social Sciences DERC reviews expedited protocols from the College of Arts and Social Sciences and the College of Law.

> 2020 Submission Deadlines Humanities & Social Sciences E2

Meeting No.

Deadlines for Applications

Meeting Date

2020 Meeting 1 Tuesday 14 January Thursday 23 January
Meeting 2 Tuesday 28 January Thursday 6 February
Meeting 3 Tuesday 11 February Thursday 20 February
Meeting 4 Tuesday 25 February Thursday 5 March
Meeting 5 Tuesday 10 March Thursday 19 March
Meeting 6 Tuesday 24 March Thursday 2 April
Meeting 7 Tuesday 7 April Thursday 16 April
Meeting 8 Tuesday 21 April Wednesday 30 April
Meeting 9 Tuesday 5 May Thursday 14 May
Meeting 10 Tuesday 19 May Thursday 28 May
Meeting 11 Tuesday 2 June Thursday 11 June
Meeting 12 Tuesday 16 June Thursday 25 June
Meeting 13 Tuesday 30 June Thursday 9 July
Meeting 14 Tuesday 14 July Thursday 23 July
Meeting 15 Tuesday 28 July Thursday 6 August
Meeting 16 Tuesday 11 August Thursday 20 August
Meeting 17 Tuesday 25 August Thursday 3 September
Meeting 18 Tuesday 8 September Thursday 17 September
Meeting 19 Tuesday 22 September Thursday 1 October
Meeting 20 Tuesday 6 October Thursday 15 October
Meeting 21 Tuesday 20 October Thursday 29 October
Meeting 22 Tuesday 3 November Thursday 12 November
Meeting 23 Tuesday 17 November Thursday 26 November
Meeting 24 Tuesday 1 December Thursday 10 December

 

Asia Pacific & Business Delegated Ethical Review Committee (DERC)

The Asia Pacific & Business DERC reviews expedited applications from the College of Asia & the Pacific and the College of Business & Economics.

> 2020 Submission Deadlines Asia Pacific & Business E2

Meeting No.

Deadlines for Applications

Meeting Date

2020 Meeting 1

Tuesday 14 January

Tuesday 21 January

Meeting 2

Tuesday 28 January

Tuesday 4 February

Meeting 3

Tuesday 11 February

Tuesday 18 February

Meeting 4

Tuesday 25 February

Tuesday 3 March

Meeting 5

Tuesday 10 March

Tuesday 17 March

Meeting 6

Tuesday 24 March

Tuesday 31 March

Meeting 7

Tuesday 7 April

Tuesday 14 April

Meeting 8

Tuesday 21 April

Tuesday 28 April

Meeting 9

Tuesday 5 May

Tuesday 12 May

Meeting 10

Tuesday 19 May

Tuesday 26 May

Meeting 11

Tuesday 2 June

Tuesday 9 June

Meeting 12 Tuesday 16 June Tuesday 23 June
Meeting 13 Tuesday 30 June Tuesday 7 July
Meeting 14 Tuesday 14 July Tuesday 21 July
Meeting 15 Tuesday 28 July Tuesday 4 August
Meeting 16 Tuesday 11 August Tuesday 18 August
Meeting 17 Tuesday 25 August Tuesday 1 September
Meeting 18 Tuesday 8 September Tuesday 15 September
Meeting 19 Tuesday 22 September Tuesday 29 September
Meeting 20 Tuesday 6 October Tuesday 13 October
Meeting 21 Tuesday 20 October Tuesday 27 October
Meeting 22 Tuesday 3 November Tuesday 10 November
Meeting 23 Tuesday 17 November Tuesday 24 November
Meeting 24 Tuesday 1 December Tuesday 8 December

 

Science & Medical Delegated Ethical Review Committee (DERC)

The Science & Medical DERC reviews expedited applications from the College of Science and the College of Health & Medicine.

> 2020 Submission Deadlines Science & Medical E2

Meeting No.

Deadlines for Applications

Meeting Date

2020 Meeting 1 Tuesday 14 January Wednesday 22 January
Meeting 2 Tuesday 28 January Wednesday 5 February
Meeting 3 Tuesday 11 February Wednesday 19 February
Meeting 4 Tuesday 25 February Wednesday 4 March
Meeting 5 Tuesday 10  March Wednesday 18 March
Meeting 6 Tuesday 24 March Wednesday 1 April
Meeting 7 Tuesday 7 April Wednesday 15 April
Meeting 8 Tuesday 21 April Wednesday 29 April
Meeting 9 Tuesday 5 May Wednesday 13 May
Meeting 10 Tuesday 19 May Wednesday 27 May
Meeting 11 Tuesday 2 June Wednesday 10 June
Meeting 12 Tuesday 16 June Wednesday 24 June
Meeting 13 Tuesday 30 June Wednesday 8 July
Meeting 14 Tuesday 14 July Wednesday 22 July
Meeting 15 Tuesday 28 July Wednesday 5 August
Meeting 16 Tuesday 11 August Wednesday 19 August
Meeting 17 Tuesday 25 August Wednesday 2 September
Meeting 18 Tuesday 8 September Wednesday 16 September
Meeting 19 Tuesday 22 September Wednesday 30 September
Meeting 20 Tuesday 6 October Wednesday 14 October
Meeting 21 Tuesday 20 October Wednesday 28 October
Meeting 22 Tuesday 3 November Wednesday 11 November
Meeting 23 Tuesday 17 November Wednesday 25 November
Meeting 24 Tuesday 1 December Wednesday 9 December
 

 

Expedited, Level 1 research

E1 applications are for low-risk research projects only. They are reviewed by the appropriate DERC Chair out of session and can be submitted at any time.

Page owner: Research Services