Human Research Ethics Committee

High-risk protocols (Full Review) will be considered and approved by The Australian National University Human Research Ethics Committee (HREC). All inquiries and correspondence with the Committee should be directed to the Secretary, Human Research Ethics Committee. The Human Research Ethics Committee (HREC) works on a monthly cycle.

After you have submitted your application online in ARIES, an email will be sent to you outlining what you need to do to finalise your submission.


2019 Submission Deadlines

Meeting No.

Deadlines for Applications (5pm)

Meeting Date

Meeting 1

Tuesday 15 January

Friday 25 January

Meeting 2

Tuesday 12 February

Friday 22 February

Meeting 3

Tuesday 19 March

Friday 29 March

Meeting 4

Tuesday 23 April

Friday 3 May

Meeting 5

Tuesday 21 May

Friday 31 May

Meeting 6

Tuesday 18 June

Friday 28 June

Meeting 7

Tuesday 16 July

Friday 26 July

Meeting 8

Tuesday 20 August

Friday 30 August

Meeting 9

Tuesday 17 September

Friday 27 September

Meeting 10

Tuesday 15 October

Friday 25 October

Meeting 11

Tuesday 19 November

Friday 29 November




  • Professor Michael Martin (ANU)


  • Ms Anna Prosser (External)


  • Mr Andrew Tink (External)

Minister of religion

  • Rev Dr Andrew Cameron (External)


  • Professor Gordon Waddington (External)
  • Dr Marie Mansfield (ANU)


  • Professor Tom Faunce (ANU)
  • Mr Graeme Blank (ANU)

Researcher (ANU)

  • Professor Richard O'Kearney
  • Dr Rob Dyball
  • Dr Adam Henschke
  • Dr Charlotte Galloway
  • Dr Patrick Kilby
  • Dr Rod Lamberts
  • Dr Virginia Marshall
  • Dr Caroline Schuster
  • Dr Rosalie Aroni
  • Professor Bruce Smyth
  • Professor Jane Simpson


  • Ms Heather Browning
Page owner: Research Services