People Manager Essentials

Who should attend

This event is designed for new and existing people managers at the University, encompassing academics and professional people managers who manage one or more members of staff. It is recommended that you attend within three months of being appointed to a people manager role.  

Course overview

The People Manager Essentials is designed to provide you with information specific to leading staff at ANU, with an opportunity to meet colleagues from the greater ANU community. Please be aware that this is not a leadership or skills development course. It is an introduction to the basics of efficient and effective people management at the University and is a pre-requisite for enrolment in other leadership development programs (e.g. Leadership in Practice Program). ​ 

Key takeaways

The aim of the People Manager Essentials is to help you understand your role and responsibilities as a people manager:

  • Equip you with the knowledge, tools and resources to be successful in your role.
  • Enable a forum for people managers across ANU to network, collaborate and learn from each other.
  • Understand where to find relevant information, documents and resources for managing people at all stages of the ANU employee life cycle.

Dates in 2024 

  • Wednesday 22 May 2024
  • Tuesday 4 June 2024
  • Wednesday 17 July 2024
  • Tuesday 30 July 2024
  • Tuesday 13 August 2024
  • Wednesday 28 August 2024
  • Tuesday 10 September 2024
  • Wednesday 25 September 2024
  • Tuesday 8 October 2024
  • Wednesday 23 October 2024
  • Wednesday 6 November 2024
  • Tuesday 19 November 2024
  • Wednesday 4 December 2024

Cost

Free of charge for Australian National University staff.

Note, this event is not catered.

Location 

May - July 2024: Zoom session (online)

August - December 2024: Finkel Lecture Theatre, John Curtin School of Medical Research, 131 Garran Road

To locate this venue click here.

Note, that whilst these locations are confirmed please refer to your People Manager Essentials calendar invite for further information. More sessions will be released in HORUS for August onwards, later in the year.

After you have registered, you will receive a calendar invite from HRD.Development@anu.edu.au with all event details closer to the event date (e.g. one to two weeks before the event). In the meantime, please block out the time and date of the session you have registered for in your calendar.

Page owner: Human Resources