Vice-Chancellor's Award for Educational Excellence


To recognise the University’s most outstanding educators in their fields, who have made a broad and deep contribution to enhancing the quality of learning and teaching in higher education at ANU.


The recipient of this award will be chosen from amongst the awardees of the Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence in Education:

  • Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Teaching Excellence
  • Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Supervision
  • Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Indigenous Education
  • Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Programs that Enhance Learning


Staff with teaching or teaching/research appointments who have been employed for at least 3 years at ANU, and who have been recipients in the current year of a Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence in Education in one or more of the categories listed above, are eligible for Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Educational Excellence as either as an individual or as part of a team.

Selection Process

The selection committee for the Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence in Education will make a recommendation from amongst the recipients of those awards in the current year to the Vice-Chancellor for consideration and endorsement.

Awards process

Award finalists and sponsors will be contacted once the Committee has made a determination but recipients will not be announced until the awards ceremony. The awards will be presented at the celebratory Vice-Chancellor’s Annual Awards event in the same year and all nominees and sponsors will be invited. All award recipients will be published on the Vice-Chancellor’s Annual Awards webpage.

In the case of team awards, the team will receive one award, presented to the Team Lead (as specified on the nomination form).


2021 - Professor Alexander Maier (Research School of Biology)

2020 - Associate Professor Dipti Talaulikar (ANU Medical School)

2019 - Associate Professor Samantha Bennett (ANU School of Music)

2018 - Dr. Shari Read (Research School of Management)

Further information

For further information please contact



Recipients and their details are listed on the pages below.
Page owner: Human Resources