Chancellor's Award for Distinguished Contribution to the University

The Chancellor's Award for Distinguished Contribution to the University recognises distinguished service of a high degree.


Staff, students and alumni of the University whose contributions to the economic, cultural, scientific or social development of Australia or the international community has demonstrated eminent achievement and merit of the highest degree are eligible for the Award.

Nomination Process

The Deputy Vice-Chancellors, Pro Vice-Chancellors, College Deans and Directors of Service Divisions are invited to submit names of potential recipients with supporting documentation for the initial consideration of the Vice-Chancellor.

Staff or Student Associations are encouraged to submit nominations through the relevant College Dean or Service Division. The Vice-Chancellor may, at his discretion, request that a formal proposal be developed for consideration by the Chancellor's Awards Committee.

Nominations should be submitted on the Chancellor's Award Nomination Form and will require the Primary Sponsor to provide the following:

  • Supporting statement addressing the eligibility criteria (maximum of one page);
  • Details of two supporting referees who the Committee can contact to provide a letter of recommendation, if requested;
  • Brief summary of achievements that can be used as part of the citation to be read on presentation of the Award by the Chancellor, if the nomination is successful (maximum 150 words).

Supporting statements should use clear, accessible and concise language, avoiding excessive use of technical words, academic or industry terminology and acronyms.

Nomination forms can be downloaded from the Chancellor’s Awards webpage. Nominations should be submitted as a single PDF document to, by no later than 5pm on the advertised closing date.

Awards process

Up to five awards may be made each year.

Awardees, finalists, nominators and unsuccessful nominees will be contacted in October 2018 by the University. Award recipients will receive a framed Chancellor's Award commemorative certificate and a glass sculpture designed by the ANU School of Art & Design. Finalists will receive a commemorative certificate. All award recipients will be published on the Chancellor’s Awards webpage.

The Chancellor's Award for Distinguished Contribution to the University will be presented each year during the December Conferring of Degrees' Ceremonies. For more information on the Conferring Ceremonies and/or to book tickets visit the Graduations website or email

In the case of team awards, the team will receive one commemorative certificate and glass sculpture, presented to the Team Lead (as specified on the nomination form).

Further information

For further information please contact

Citations for each of the past recipients are linked from the awards recipients below.


Year Name Citation/More information
2017 Professor David Lindenmayer Citation (PDF, 330KB)
2016 Emeritus Professor David Horner Citation (PDF, 57KB)
2015 Professor Marilyn Ball Citation (PDF, 56KB)
2014 Professor Christopher Parish Citation (PDF, 205.86 KB)
2013 Professor Michael Coper Citation (PDF, 62.23 KB)
  Professor Andrew Cockburn Citation (PDF, 65.32 KB)
2012 Professor Hilary Charlesworth Citation (PDF, 37.72 KB)
2011 Professor Amin Saikal, AM More information
2010 Professor James Fox  
2009 Professor George Dracoulis More information
2008 Professor Paul Gatenby More information
2007 Professor Stephen Buckman More information
2006 Ms Ailsa Korten  
2005 Professor Darrell Tryon  
  Professor Geremie Barmé More information
2004 Mr Gary Banks  
  Mr Malcolm Crompton  
  Professor John McMillan More information
Page owner: Human Resources