Office of the Vice-Chancellor

The Office of the Vice-Chancellor (OVC) supports the University’s Vice-Chancellor and President Professor Brian P. Schmidt AC FAA FRS in his leadership of The Australian National University (ANU).

The OVC takes responsibility for the strategy and agenda of the Vice-Chancellor; for providing advice and support to the Vice-Chancellor, as well as other ANU leaders; for stewarding the business of the University and managing the University’s leadership committees; and, for coordinating the day-to-day work of the Vice-Chancellor.

The OVC is led by the Chief of Staff and Director, Chris Price, who is the senior advisor to the Vice-Chancellor, takes overall responsibility for managing his strategic agenda, represents him in various contexts, and works closely with colleagues on his behalf. He is an advisory member of the ANU Executive and Senior Management Group, and as Director of the OVC, he manages the professional staff and functions of the Office.

The Executive Officers in the OVC support the Vice-Chancellor and the Chief of Staff, by managing major projects and taking ownership of the business flow of the University’s primary management committee, Senior Management Group, as well as the University Leadership Group. The OVC’s Executive Officers Sara Rowley (Executive Officer), Jenny Sandilands (Senior Adviser), Jenny Hyland (Executive Planning Officer), and Lily Matthews (Executive Project Officer) also engage with counterparts across the University to advance major strategic initiatives.

The Executive Assistant to the Vice-Chancellor, Samantha Annetts, coordinates the work and schedules of the VC. The Office is supported by the OVC Support Officer who manages a portfolio of responsibilities across OVC and provides EA support to the Chief of Staff and Director.

In addition, the OVC works closely with:

  • the Corporate Governance and Risk Office, whose Directors report to the Vice-Chancellor.
  • the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (International Strategy), the Vice-President (First Nations), and the Vice-President (Advancement) on engagement and philanthropic matters.
  • the Chief Operating Officer and his portfolio on resourcing, infrastructure and service delivery matters.

Our teams & contacts


Contact details
EA to the Vice-Chancellor 
Executive Officer to the Vice-Chancellor 


Contact details
Professor Brian P. Schmidt AC 
Phone +61 2 6125 2510
Ms Samantha Annetts 
Executive Assistant – Vice-Chancellor
Phone +61 2 6125 2510, +61 436 857 862
Ms Jenny Hyland 
Executive Planning Officer
Phone +61 2 6125 8679
Ms Lily Matthews 
Executive Project Officer
Phone +61 2 6125 4471
Mr Chris Price 
Chief of Staff
Director, Office of the Vice-Chancellor
Phone +61 2 6125 1523
Ms Sara Rowley 
Executive Officer to the Vice-Chancellor
Phone +61 2 6125 8684
Ms Renee Weir 
Acting OVC Support Officer
Phone +61 2 6125 8485
Page owner: Executive Office