Spanish program team wins major teaching award

20 November 2012

Australia's best higher education teachers were recognised at the presentation of the 2012 Australian Awards for University Teaching at the National Gallery of Australia in Canberra on 19th November.

The Spanish Program team, led by Associate Professor Daniel Martin, and with team members Professor Catherine Travis, Dr Martha Florez, Dr Elisabeth Mayer and Dr Manuel Delicado Cantero, received an Award for Program Excellence, in the category of 'Innovation in curricula, learning and teaching.'

Ten awards were presented for teaching excellence and ten for programs that enhance learning. Each recipient will receive $25,000 for their educational activities.

Minister for Tertiary Education, Senator Chris Evans, said the Awards recognise quality university teachers and their contributions to student learning.

"This year's award recipients have provided a rich and rewarding experience for thousands of students across Australia who will carry that experience into their own careers," Senator Evans said. "With the doors of our universities open to more Australian students, high-quality information, learning and teaching has never been more important. Top rate university teaching goes hand-in-hand with a world-class higher education sector. The quality of teaching that our students receive is pivotal to the overall quality of their experience at university."

See ANU News: