NHMRC Postgraduate Scholarships

Funded by: National Health & Medical Research Council

The NHMRC Postgraduate Scholarships scheme is to support outstanding Australian health and medical graduates early in their career so that they can be trained to conduct research that is internationally competitive and to develop a capacity for original independent research.

This is usually achieved by NHMRC funding successful applicants to attain a research based postgraduate degree, which may be a PhD, a PhD equivalent degree, or Masters degree.

Categories of award

  • Biomedical Postgraduate Research Scholarships
  • Medical and Dental Postgraduate Research Scholarships
  • Primary Health Care Postgraduate Research Scholarships
  • Public Health Postgraduate Scholarship
  • Training Scholarships for Indigenous Health Research
  • Co-Funded Partnership Scholarship
  • Gustav Nossal Scholarship.

Details of the above listed categories can be found on the NHMRC webpage for Postgraduate Scholarships.

For further information surrounding NHMRC Funding Schemes Deadlines, please visit the NHMRC Funding Calendar

Other NHMRC Funding Opportunities include:

  • European Union Collaborative Research Grants
  • Centres of Research Excellence
  • Development Grants
  • NIH Brain Collaborative Research Grants
  • Research Fellowships
  • Practitioner Fellowships
  • NHMRC - NIH Brain Collaborative Research Grants
  • Career Development Fellowship
  • Partnership Projects
  • Northern Australia Tropical Disease Collaborative Research Programme
  • Program Grants
  • Translating Research Into Practice (TRIP) 

Updated September 2016.

Partner Organisations

Page owner: Research Services