Technical Design Authority (TDA)

The Technical Design Authority (TDA) is the arbitrator of technical design for significant information and technical change for all of ANU.

The purpose of the Board is to oversee significant information and technical change introduced into the University’s digital environment by ensuring that the proposed solutions have been well thought through, adheres to our design guidelines and are consistent with achieving our future state Digital environment. Overarching University wide frameworks such as the ANU Strategic Plan, the Digital Master Plan, ICT Strategy, ANU Information Security Strategy, and Enterprise Architecture principles and roadmaps will heavily inform the review process.

Please visit the TDA SharePoint site for more information on the overall framework and links to other committees.

Committee Meeting Cycle:

The frequency of the TDA meetings is set at monthly on the first Tuesday, approximately twelve (12) meetings will be held annually, or as per out of session arrangements nominated by the Chair.

Meeting Dates and News:

Please visit the TDA SharePoint site for the current TDA meeting dates and News from past meetings.


The Board membership will include a subset of technical representatives from across Information Technology Services (ITS), the Information Security Office (ISO), Planning & Service Performance (PSP), and College/School subject matter experts. The Interim Chair will be the Director, Digital, Garry Whatley. The current TDA members and attendees are:


Executive Sponsor

  • Jonathan Churchill, Chief Information Officer, ITS


  • Garry Whatley, Director, Digital, ITS, (Interim Chair)
  • Adam Reed, Head Architect, ITS
  • Helen Duke, Associate Director, Infrastructure Services, ITS
  • Trent Schultheis, Manager, Database and Integration Services, ITS
  • Ian Willis, Associate Director, Service Delivery, ITS
  • Liz West, Program Director, Information Security, ISO
  • Megan Easton, Senior Data Governance Officer, SIS
  • Leone Nurbasari, Associate Director, Business Intelligence & Analytics, PSP
  • Dr Sigi Goode, Professor of Information Systems, College of Business and Economics
  • External Industry Representative - TBC
  • ITS Senior Technical Representative - TBC


  • ITS Architects
  • ISO Architects
  • SME's when required for an agenda item


  • Marina Stojkoski, Business Analyst, Project Delivery & Engagement, ITS