Kioloa Advisory Board

The establishment of the Foundation in 1975 also marked the establishment of the Edith and Joy London Foundation (EJLF) Management Committee, nominated to be responsible to ANU Council through a Chairperson, with volunteer membership including academic and administrative representation. At the field station Joy London herself initially managed the accommodations until a resident caretaker was appointed. During that time bookings, facilities and land management were undertaken with the voluntary positions of Secretary, Steward, Curator and Bailiff filled within the Committe.

A re-commitment from the university in 2000 led to the establishment of the Kioloa Advisory Board (KAB) with bookings, facilities and land management now being undertaken by the Campus Manager and several part-time campus administrators, maintenance personnel and cleaners.

A re-assessment of the Kioloa Advisory Board was undertaken in late 2010 with a new governance structure approved by the then Vice-Chancellor Prof. Ian Chubb for implementation in 2011. Through including representatives from every ANU College on the Kioloa Advisory Board, this new governance structure for the Kioloa Coastal Campus invites input from all disciplines at the ANU. The Kioloa Advisory Board is chaired by the Vice-Chancellor (or delegate) and includes the Deans of different ANU Colleges (or their delegates), the Directors of Facilities & Services and of Endowment for Excellence at the ANU, the Campus Manager, a member of the local Bawley Point / Kioloa community, as well as an ANU student representative. KAB members are appointed with the approval of the ANU Council.  All members of the Kioloa Advisory Board are volunteers.


Current members

  • Prof Timothy Senden, Research School of Physics & Engineering
  • Bill Powell (Community representative)
  • Nicki Middleton, Director - Facilities & Services Division
  • Prof Alexander Maier (Chair), Research School of Biology
  • Dr Alastair Greig, Research School of Social Sciences
  • Mathew Maclay, Associate Director Operations - Facilities & Services Division
  • Prof David Rowell, Research School of Biology
  • Prof David Nisbet, College of Engineering & Computer Science
  • Liam Foxcroft, student representative
  • Emeritus Prof Hans Bachor, School of Physics
  • Dr Judith Caton, School of Physics