Humanities & Social Sciences Delegated Ethics Review Committee

NOTE: As of 14 April 2020, all human ethics committees are working hard to keep to our normal schedule of review according to the submission dates below. Please note that priority will continue to be given to applications and variations that:

  1. Are required for research directly related to COVID, or
  2. Are essential variations to existing protocols that will minimise risk/distress to participants.

In order for these priority submissions to be actioned appropriately, please email human.ethics.officer@anu.edu.au to alert the Ethics Team ahead of submission, and include “Priority Submission” in the subject line.

The Humanities & Social Sciences Delegated Ethics Review Committee (DERC) reviews applications from Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences.

After you have submitted your application online in ARIES, an email will be sent to you outlining what you need to do next. Expedited applications should be printed (with all supporting documents), signed by the researcher and supervisor of the project then sent as a single PDF to Human Ethics Officer or a hard copy delivered prior to the submission deadline. Applications will not be accepted without all of the required signatures. E1 applications can be submitted at any time as only the chair will review. 

E2 committee submission & meeting dates for the Humanities & Social Science:

Submission Deadlines

2020 Meeting No.

Deadlines for Applications

Meeting Date

Meeting 1 Tuesday 14 January Thursday 23 January
Meeting 2 Tuesday 28 January Thursday 6 February
Meeting 3 Tuesday 11 February Thursday 20 February
Meeting 4 Tuesday 25 February Thursday 5 March
Meeting 5 Tuesday 10 March Thursday 19 March
Meeting 6 Tuesday 24 March Thursday 2 April
Meeting 7 Tuesday 7 April Thursday 16 April
Meeting 8 Tuesday 21 April Wednesday 30 April
Meeting 9 Tuesday 5 May Thursday 14 May
Meeting 10 Tuesday 19 May Thursday 28 May
Meeting 11 Tuesday 2 June Thursday 11 June
Meeting 12 Tuesday 16 June Thursday 25 June
Meeting 13 Tuesday 30 June Thursday 9 July
Meeting 14 Tuesday 14 July Thursday 23 July
Meeting 15 Tuesday 28 July Thursday 6 August
Meeting 16 Tuesday 11 August Thursday 20 August
Meeting 17 Tuesday 25 August Thursday 3 September
Meeting 18 Tuesday 8 September Thursday 17 September
Meeting 19 Tuesday 22 September Thursday 1 October
Meeting 20 Tuesday 6 October Thursday 15 October
Meeting 21 Tuesday 20 October Thursday 29 October
Meeting 22 Tuesday 3 November Thursday 12 November
Meeting 23 Tuesday 17 November Thursday 26 November
Meeting 24 Tuesday 1 December Thursday 10 December

Members

Co-Chairs

  • Dr Rob Dyball (COS, Fenner School of Environment & Society)
  • Dr Patrick Kilby (CASS, School of Archaeology and Anthropology)
  • Dr Charlotte Galloway (CASS, Research School of Humanities & the Arts)

Researcher

  • Dr Sara Beavis (CoS, Fenner School of Environment & Society)
  • Dr Alison Behie (CASS, School of Archaeology and Anthropology)
  • Dr Laurence Brown (CASS, Australian National Internships Program)
  • Dr Alexandra Dellios (CASS, Centre for Heritage and Museum Studies)
  • Dr Anne MacDuff (College of Law)
  • Professor Adrian Mackenzie (CASS, Research School of Social Sciences)
  • Dr Susy Macqueen (CASS, School of Literature, Languages & Linguistics)
  • Dr Helen Taylor (CASS, School of Politics and International Relations)
  • Dr Mary Dahm (CASS, Institute for Communication in Health Care)
  • Ms Amy Constable (College of Law)
Page owner: Research Services