Asia Pacific & Business Delegated Ethics Review Committee

NOTE: As of 14 April 2020, all human ethics committees are working hard to keep to our normal schedule of review according to the submission dates below.

Priority may be given to time-sensitive research directly related to COVID-19, or for essential variations to existing protocols that will minimise risk/distress to participants.

In order for these priority submissions to be actioned appropriately, please email to alert the Ethics Team ahead of submission, and include “Priority Submission” in the subject line.

The Asia Pacific Delegated Ethics Review Committee (DERC) reviews low and medium-risk applications primarily from the College of Asia & the Pacific. They usually meet on every other Thursday. Application submissions are due the Monday the week before the meeting. 

After you have submitted your application online in ARIES, an email will be sent to you outlining what you need to do next. Expedited applications should be printed (with all supporting documents), signed by the researcher and supervisor of the project then sent as a single PDF to Human Ethics Officer or a hard copy delivered prior to the submission deadline. Applications will not be accepted without all of the required signatures. E1 applications can be submitted at any time as only the chair will review. 



  • Prof Susanna Ho (CBE, School of Accounting & Business Information Systems)
  • Dr Katrin Travouillon (CAP, Department of Political and Social Change)


  • Dr Yanyin Zhang (CAP, School of Culture, History and Language)
  • Dr Babita Bhatt (CBE, Research School of Management)
  • Dr Jacquelyn Zhang (CAP, Crawford School of Public Policy)
  • Dr Kailing Shen (CBE, Research School of Economics)
  • Professor Veronica Taylor (CAP, School of Regulation and Global Governance)
  • Professor Bina D'Costa (CAP, Coral Bell School of Asia Pacific Affairs)
  • Dr Aaron Bruhn (CBE, Research School of Finance, Actuarial Studies and Statistics)
  • Dr Guihyun Park (CBE, Research School of Management)
Page owner: Research Services