#ANU3MT 3 Minute Thesis Competition Final 2019

Imagine condensing hours, days and even years of complex research into a short presentation while being judged by an expert panel and lecture theatre full of your peers and strangers. An 80,000-word hesis would take 9 hours to read, they have 3 minutes.

Join us for an evening of smart entertainment suitable for the whole family and catch a glimpse of the amazing research projects that are being conducted by ANU PhD students.

On the night, twelve finalists will wow you and the judges for the #ANU3MT 2019 crown, $5000 in prize money for the winner and a place in the 3MT Asia-Pacific grand final. We will ask you to cast your vote for the People's Choice award, the audience favourite will take home a $500 cash prize. $2,500 will be awarded to the runner up and an additional $750 prize will be given to all other finalists.

The 3MT is an international competition for research students to showcase their research. Students share what their research is and why it is important in plain language for three minutes, with only a single PowerPoint slide.

The 2019 ANU 3MT Finalists

  1. Anushka Vidanage, College of Engineering and Computer Science
  2. Merryn Fraser, College of Science
  3. Shamim Homayun, College of Arts and Social Sciences
  4. Rose Clifford, College of Health & Medicine
  5. Ian Chambers, College of Asia and the Pacific
  6. Sayla Siddiqui, College of Business and Economics
  7. Lithin Louis, College of Health & Medicine
  8. Nurina Merdikawati, College of Asia and the Pacific
  9. Vihanga Perera, College of Arts and Social Sciences
  10. Likim Ng, College of Law
  11. Ibidolapo Adekoya, College of Science

Our Judges

Dr Andrew Leigh MP

Dr Andrew Leigh grew up in Malaysia, Indonesia, Melbourne and Sydney. He studied Arts/Law at the University of Sydney and gained a PhD in Public Policy from Harvard University. Prior to being elected in 2010, Andrew was a professor of economics at the Australian National University. Dr Leigh is the Federal Member for Fenner in the ACT, and the Shadow Assistant Treasurer, Shadow Minister for Competition and Productivity, Shadow Minister for Charities and Not-for-Profits, and Shadow Minister for Trade in Services.

Dr Anne Martin AM

Aunty Anne is a proud Yuin woman of the NSQ South Coast Born and raised at La Perouse in Sydney. Anne is the Director of the ANU Tjabal Indigenous Higher Education Centre and has been the Co-Chair of the NAIDOC Committee since 2006. Anne is passionate about celebrating history, culture and achievements of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. She's passionate about her grandchildren and an advocate for Cystic Fibrosis research. Anne views education as highly important whether from pre-school or to higher education she sees education as being the key to changing the world.

Ms Vicki Thomson

Ms Vicki Thomson is the Chief Executive of the Group of Eight (Go8) – Australia’s eight leading research-intensive universities – taking up the role in January 2015. Prior to this, she was Executive Director of the Australian Technology Network of Universities (ATN). Ms Thomson’s diverse background covers print and electronic journalism, politics, issues management and the higher education sector. She has an extensive media, political and policy background and was Chief of Staff to a South Australian Premier. She is a Board member of the European Australian Business Council and is a member of the Australian Government’s New Colombo Plan Reference Group.

Group Captain Catherine McGregor AM

Catherine McGregor is a freelance writer, broadcaster and author. She is a graduate of the Royal Military College Duntroon and served as an officer in the Australian Regular Army and the Royal Australian Air Force for over three decades. Her service involved operational deployments overseas, including operational command in Timor Leste. She is a Tetum linguist. Catherine was a strategic advisor and speech writer to every Chief of the Army from 1999 until 2014. She subsequently served as Director of Research and Analysis for the Chief of Air Force. She was awarded the Order of Australia in the Military Division in the Australia Day Honours list in 2012. Catherine is also one of Australia’s most highly regarded cricket writers and commentators. Catherine is currently the Director of Research and Analysis in the Office of the Chief of Air Force.

Dr Bryan Lessard

CSIRO Entomologist, Dr Bryan Lessard (a.k.a. Bry the Fly Guy) researches flies, a tough sell to many members of the public. Dr Lessard was first introduced to the curious world of flies during his undergraduate studies at the University of Wollongong, learning about the behaviour, classification and applications of the winged insects to forensic entomology. With his interest piqued, he enrolled in a PhD at the Australian National University in Canberra to continue his research on flies, this time describing over 18 species new to science and using DNA to solve the mystery behind the evolution of gondwanan horse flies. Dr Lessard shares his passion for flies and biodiversity with the world through speaking events, social media and the written word. He was an invited speaker at TEDxCanberra in 2016 and now presents a semiregular segment (Bry the Fly Guy’s Top 5) on Evenings with Chris Bath on ABC Radio.

Dr Judith Reinhard

Originally from Germany, Dr Reinhard studied biology, chemistry, mathematics and physics and obtained a PhD from the University of Bayreuth, Germany in 1997. She has over 20 years’ experience working in the university, research and science sectors in Germany, France and Australia. In 2015, Dr Reinhard was recruited to the German Embassy in Canberra as Science Counsellor for the German government, and promoted to Head of Science and Innovation in 2017. In this role she uses her extensive international experience in the higher education and research sector to develop partnerships between German and Australian research institutions, identify funding and investment opportunities in priority areas, and foster bilateral research-industry linkages.

This event is free and open to the public, bring your friends and family to an unforgettable night of smart entertainment. Proudly sponsored by the Dean, Higher Degree ResearchResearch Training and the ANU Postgraduate and Research Students' Association.