ANU Equity and Strategy Committee

About the Equity & Inclusion Strategy Committee

The SAGE Steering Committee was dissolved on 1 July 2018, and replaced with the ANU Equity and Inclusion Strategy Committee.

The Equity and Inclusion Strategy Committee is responsible for ensuring the University successfully completes and delivers the application to obtain an Athena SWAN Award at the Institutional Bronze level. In addition, the Committee advises the Vice-Chancellor and the Senior Management Group on major issues of gender equity and inclusion as they relate to academic and professional staff at ANU.

This Committee meets on a quarterly basis.

Read more information about this Committee [link through to Committee subpage on ANU Gateway Governance - Committees] or view the ANU Gender Equity Governance Framework [PDF].

The work of the Equity & Inclusion Committee

  • Ensure the University upholds the principles of the Athena SWAN Charter [link this]
  • Oversee the progress of the SAGE Athena SWAN Institutional Bronze application
  • Provide guidance and advice to the SAGE Self-Assessment Team (SAT) and the SAGE Project Team in the preparation of the Institutional Bronze application
  • Provide guidance and advice to the SAT regarding the identification, prioritisation and approval of the Action Plan
  • Make formal recommendations regarding the project’s strategic direction, including oversight of initiatives

Committee Members



Professor Mike Calford (Chair)


Mr Chris Grange

Chief Operating Officer

Professor Richard Baker

Pro Vice-Chancellor (University Experience)

Professor Imelda Whelehan

Dean, Higher Degree Research

Dr Nadine White

Director, Human Resources

Ms Richelle Hilton

Director, Planning and Performance Measurement

Associate Professor Keturah Whitford

Dean of Staff

Professor Rae Frances

Dean, ANU College of Arts & Social Sciences

Professor Kiaran Kirk

Dean, ANU College of Science


Director, Research School of XXXX


Director, Research School of XXXX

Professor Margaret Jolley

Convenor, ANU Gender Institute


PARSA representative

Page owner: Executive Office