Vice-Chancellor's Award for Reconciliation - to be awarded in 2023


To encourage and recognise initiatives and professional activities to achieve the vision and targets set out in the University’s Reconciliation Action Plan.


Nominations will be assessed on the basis of written evidence that demonstrates outstanding achievement in one or more of the following areas:

  • Demonstrated commitment to building and promoting reconciliation between Indigenous Australians and non-Indigenous Australians;
  • Demonstrated contributions to implementing strategies to increase the participation rate of Indigenous Australian students in undergraduate, graduate coursework and/or higher degree studies;
  • Demonstrated contributions to implementing strategies to increase the number of Indigenous Australian academic or professional staff at ANU.


All staff members are eligible for the Vice-Chancellor’s Awards either as an individual or as part of a team. Nominees must be employed by the University (on payroll) in the year of the award. Current students may be included as part of team nominations as appropriate.

Nomination process

Nomination forms can be downloaded from the Vice-Chancellor’s Awards webpage.  Nominations should be submitted as a single PDF document to, by no later than 5pm on the advertised closing date.

Nominations should be prepared by Sponsors, that is, a supervisor or other person within the University. Sponsors should specifically address the award criteria, provide examples to support their claims, and note that additional references are not permitted, and that additional paperwork will not be considered by the Committee.

Colleges and Service Divisions may choose to set up a committee to ensure that staff who warrant consideration of an award are not overlooked.

Sponsors should note that the Vice-Chancellor’s Awards recognise excellence in achievement and contribution that exceeds the normal expectations of the work undertaken by individuals and teams. The selection committee will consider the academic or professional level and consider their access to opportunity when making their evaluation.

Awards process

Award finalists and sponsors will be contacted once the Committee has made a determination but recipients will not be announced until the awards ceremony. The awards will be presented at the celebratory Vice-Chancellor’s Annual Awards event in the same year and all nominees and sponsors will be invited. All award recipients will be published on the Vice-Chancellor’s Annual Awards webpage.

In the case of team awards, the team will receive one award, presented to the Team Lead (as specified on the nomination form).


2020 - Azure Hermes (CHM)

2019 - National Indigenous Summer School Organising Committee

2018 - Amanda Stuart, Heike Qualitz, Amelia Zaraftis (School of Art and Design , The Balawan Elective Team)

2017 - Ms Mary Spiers Williams (CAP)

2016 - Ms Jessica Ford (CAP) and Dr Raymond Lovett (CHM)

Further information

For further information please contact

Page owner: Human Resources