Chancellor's awards - Peter Baume Award


Named after former ANU Chancellor, Professor the Hon. Peter Baume AC, this is the University's most prestigious award. It recognises eminent achievement and merit of the highest order.


Staff, students and alumni of the University whose contributions to the economic, cultural, scientific or social development of Australia or the international community has demonstrated eminent achievement and merit of the highest degree are eligible for the Award.

Nomination process

The Deputy Vice-Chancellors, Pro Vice-Chancellors, College Deans and Directors of Service Divisions are invited to submit names of potential recipients with supporting documentation for the initial consideration of the Vice-Chancellor.

Staff or Student Associations are encouraged to submit nominations through the relevant College Dean or Service Division. The Vice-Chancellor may, at his discretion, request that a formal proposal be developed for consideration by the Chancellor's Awards Committee. (Citations for each of the past recipients are linked from the awards recipients pages below).

Nominations should be submitted on the Chancellor's Award Nomination Form and will require the Primary Sponsor to provide the following:

  • Supporting statement addressing the eligibility criteria (maximum of one page);
  • Details of two supporting referees who the Committee can contact to provide a letter of recommendation, if requested;
  • Brief summary of achievements that can be used as part of the citation to be read on presentation of the Award by the Chancellor, if the nomination is successful (maximum 150 words).

Supporting statements should use clear, accessible and concise language, avoiding excessive use of technical words, academic or industry terminology and acronyms.

Nominations should be in writing and sent to the email address provided on the right hand side of the page by no later than 5pm on the advertised closing date.

Awards process

It is expected that one award will be made each year; however, more will be awarded if the calibre of candidates is exceptional in any given year. Recipients will receive a glass sculpture designed by the ANU School of Art. All award recipients will be published on the award recipients webpage.

The Chancellor's Awards are presented each year during the December Conferring of Degrees' Ceremonies. For more information on the Conferring Ceremonies and/or to book tickets visit the Graduations website or email

Further information

For further information please contact Awards, details provided under Contact.


Year Name Citation/More information
2017 Distinguished Professor Amin Saikal, AM Citation (PDF, 324KB)
2016 Professor Susanne von Caemmerer Citation (PDF, 69KB)
2016 Professor Robert Goodin Citation (PDF, 68KB)
2015 Not awarded  
2014 Professor Kenneth Freeman Citation (PDF, 211.38 KB)
2013 Professor David Chalmers Citation (PDF, 78.85 KB)
  Professor Desmond Ball Citation (PDF, 60.41 KB)
2012 Emeritus Professor Aidan Byrne Citation (PDF, 110.42 KB)
2011 Professor James Williams AM More information
  Professor Graham Farquhar More information
2010 Professor Brian Schmidt More information
2009 Professor John Gibson More information
2008 Professor Brian Kennett More information
2007 Professor Yuri Kivshar More information
2006 Professor Chennupati Jagadish More information
  Professor Andrew Cockburn More information
2005 Not awarded  
2004 Professor Brian Anderson More information
Page owner: Human Resources