Can I send dangerous goods e.g. biological samples in dry ice, chemical samples and live laboratory animals?

Dangerous goods are substances that may pose an immediate hazard to people, property and/or the environment.  There are nine classes of dangerous goods:

Class 1 – Explosives;

Class 2 – Gases;

Class 3 – Flammable Liquids;

Class 4 – Flammable Solids;

Class 5 – Oxidising Substances and Organic peroxides;

Class 6 – Toxic and Infectious Substances;

Class 7 – Radioactive Material;

Class 8 – Corrosive Substances; and

Class 9 – Miscellaneous dangerous Substances.

University personnel sending dangerous goods must ensure they do not contravene the Defence Trade Controls Act 2012 (https://www.legislation.gov.au/Details/C2012A00153)

The University’s dangerous goods can be sent through DHL (as the University’s preferred supplier for courier services) or DB Schenker (as the University’s preferred provider for customs clearance and freight forwarding services) noting that both suppliers have limitations on the dangerous goods they are able to carry.

Please direct enquiries to:

Dangerous goods must be packaged to the International Air Transport Aviation (IATA) standard before dispatch by the University.  ANU personnel required to dispatch dangerous goods must consult with one of the following IATA certified University staff:

Name

School

Xtn

E-mail address

Class able to be approved

Rose-Anne Holm

RSB

52857

Roseanne.holm@anu.edu.au

All Classes

Andrew Talbot

JCSMR

52587

andrew.talbot@anu.edu.au

Classes 6 and 9

Michelle Townsend

JCSMR

54576   

michelle.townsend@anu.edu.au

Classes 6 and 9

Stewart Smith

JCSMR

52693  

stewart.smith@anu.edu.au

Classes 6 and 9

Sheren Al-Obaidi

JCSMR

54707  

sheren.alobaidi@anu.edu.au

Classes 6 and 9

Sharon Satlabanis

JCSMR

50418  

sharon.satlabanis@anu.edu.au

Classes 6 and 9

Jean Cappello

JCSMR

54717

jean.cappello@anu.edu.au

Classes 6 and 9

Megan Pavy

JCSMR

57955

megan.pavy@anu.edu.au

Classes 6 and 9

Jennifer Kofler

JCSMR

57243  

jennifer.kofler@anu.edu.au

Classes 6 and 9

The University’s IATA certified staff will package and prepare the required documentation in accordance with IATA requirements.