CHELT Teaching & Learning Workshops 2019

ANU Educational Fellowship Scheme

The ANU Educational Fellowship Scheme (EFS) recognises those at ANU who have contributed to student learning experiences by awarding them with Higher Education Academy (HEA) fellowships.

Show EFS workshop calendar

  • Information Session (E1) We provide you with information on why applying for a fellowship is important for ANU staff involved in teaching and learning.
  • Developing your Teaching Philosophy (E2)  An opportunity to listen to other fellows talk about their teaching philosophies, and discover what sparked their interest in and passion for teaching.
  • Writing a Reflective Narrative (E3) EFS mentors will guide you through the process of writing your application "reflectively" in the context of the Professional Standards Framework (PSF).
  • Reflect and Write (E4) An opportunity for you to sit and write uninterrupted for the allocated time.
  • Receiving Feedback (E5)  By invitation only. Applicants must submit a draft to efs@anu.edu.au and an EFS mentor will allocate a half an hour time slot to provide feedback.
  • EFS Assessor Training

Register for workshops

Please note some workshops may already be fully subscribed.

Information Session (E1) Thursday 31 January, 12.15-1.30 E1
Writing a Reflective Narrative (E3) Friday 8 February, 12.15-1.45 E3
Reflect and Write (E4) Thursday 14 February, 2-4 E4
Reflect and Write (E4) Monday 25 February, 2-4 E4
Information Session (E1) Tuesday 26 February, 12.15-1.30 E1
Developing your Teaching Philosophy (E2)  Thursday 28 February, 12.15-1.45 E2
Writing a Reflective Narrative (E3) Thursday 7 March, 12.15-1.45 E3

Reflect and Write (E4)

Thursday 14 March, 12-2 E4
Receiving Feedback (E5) Friday 15 March, 12.30-1.30 E5
Information Session for Professional Staff (E1) Thursday 21 March, 12.15-1.30 E1
EFS Assessor Training Tuesday 25 March, 2-5  
Reflect and Write (E4) Tuesday 26 March, 3-5 E4
Developing your Teaching Philosophy (E2) Monday 1 April, 12.15-1.45 E2
Writing a Reflective Narrative (E3) Friday 5 April, 12.15-1.45 E3
Reflect and Write (E4) Tuesday 9 April, 2.30-4.30 E4
Reflect and Write (E4) Monday 29 April, 1-3 E4
Information Session (E1) Tuesday 30 April, 12.15-1.30 E1
Writing a Reflective Narrative (E3) Monday 6 May, 12.15-1.45 E3
Receiving Feedback (E5) Thursday 9 May, 12.30-1.30 E5
Reflect and Write (E4) Friday 17 May, 2-4 E4
Developing your Teaching Philosophy (E2) Tuesday 21 May E2
Information Session (E1) Thursday 23 May, 12.15-1.30 E1
Reflect and Write (E4) Thursday 30 May, 12-2 E4
Writing a Reflective Narrative (E3) Friday 31 May, 12.15-1.45 E3
Reflect and Write (E4) Thursday 13 June, 3-5 E4
Receiving Feedback (E5) Friday 14 June, 12.30-1.30 E5
Information Session (E1) Tuesday 25 June, 12.15-1.30 E1
Reflect and Write (E4) Tuesday 25 June, 2-4 E4
Writing a Reflective Narrative (E3) Friday 28 June, 12.15-1.45 E3
Reflect and Write (E4) Friday 12 July, 12-2 E4
Information Session (E1) Monday 22 July, 12.15-1.30 E1
Reflect and Write (E4) Tuesday 23 July, 3-5 E4
Developing your Teaching Philosophy (E2) Thursday 25 July, 12.15-1.45 E2
Writing a Reflective Narrative (E3) Thursday 1 August, 12.15-1.45 E3
EFS Assessor Training Friday 2 August, 9.30-12.30  
Reflect and Write (E4) Tuesday 6 August, 2.30-4.30 E4
Information Session for Professional Staff (E1) Thursday 8 August, 12.15-1.30 E1
Receiving Feedback (E5) Friday 16 August, 12.30-1.30 E5
Information Session (E1) Thursday 22 August, 12.15-1.30 E1
Reflect and Write (E4) Thursday 22 August, 2-4 E4
Writing a Reflective Narrative (E3) Thursday 29 August, 12.15-1.45 E3
Reflect and Write (E4) Thursday 12 September, 1-3 E4
Information Session (E1) Friday 13 September 12.15-1.30 E1
Developing your Teaching Philosophy (E2) Tuesday 17 September, 12.15-1.45 E2
Reflect and Write (E4) Monday 23 September, 12-2 E4
Writing a Reflective Narrative (E3) Tuesday 24 September, 12.15-1.45 E3
Receiving Feedback (E5) Friday 27 September, 12.30-1.30 E5
Reflect and Write (E4) Tuesday 1 October, 1-3 E4
Reflect and Write (E4) Wednesday 9 October, 12-2 E4
Information Session (E1) Tuesday 15 October, 12.15-1.30 E1
Developing your Teaching Philosophy (E2) Friday 25 October, 12.15-1.45 E2
Writing a Reflective Narrative (E3) Monday 28 October, 12.15-1.45 E3
Receiving Feedback (E5) Thursday 31 October, 12.30-1.30 E5
Reflect and Write (E4) Thursday 31 October, 2-4 E4
Reflect and Write (E4) Tuesday 5 November, 12-2 E4

 

Principles of Tutoring and Demonstrating

Principles of Tutoring and Demonstrating (PTD) is  designed for those that tutor or demonstrate at ANU, and is ideal for those wanting a broad introduction to university teaching in the context of tutoring and demonstrating.

Show PTD workshop calendar

  • Setting the Scene (T1) What does it mean to be a tutor & demonstrator at ANU?
  • Student Learning (T2) We explore student styles and how this affects the way we teach.
  • Planning a Tutorial (T3) How to structure a learning session.
  • Teaching Groups and Individuals (T4) Strategies for cooperative learning in small groups, and ways of engaging student’s one on one.
  • Dynamics and Diversity (T5) Working with diverse groups of students and ways of responding to challenging situations.
  • Peer Observation (T6) Observation of another tutor with reflection online - to complete T6 observe a colleague's tutorial or demonstration, later give an appraisal of your own tutoring style and the approach used in the session observed.
  • Introduction to Wattle for Tutors (T7) Using technology to enhance teaching and student learning.
  • Assessment and Marking (T8) Practical help with marking and giving feedback
  • Evaluation and Reflective Practice (Online module) (T9) Evaluation practices, personal reflection and exploring evaluation to inform practice.
  • Troubleshooting (The Tutoring Toolkit) (T10) Discussion of teaching scenarios from past semester’s and key skills for successful tutoring.

Register for workshops

Please note some workshops may already be fully subscribed.

Setting the Scene (T1) Monday 18 February, 10-12 Summer Intensive
Student Learning (T2) Monday 18 February, 2-4 Summer Intensive
Planning a Tutorial (T3) Tuesday 19 February, 10-12 Summer Intensive
Teaching Groups and Individuals (T4) Tuesday 19 February, 2-4 Summer Intensive
Dynamics and Diversity (T5) Thursday 21 February, 10-12 Summer Intensive
Peer Observation (T6) Flexible Summer Intensive
Introduction to Wattle for Tutors (T7) Thursday 21 February, 10-2 Summer Intensive
Assessment and Marking (T8) Friday 1 March, 2-4 Summer Intensive
Evaluation and Reflective Practice: Online module (T9) Flexible Summer Intensive
Troubleshooting: The Tutoring Toolkit) (T10) Friday 15 March, 10-12 Summer Intensive
     
Setting the Scene (T1) Thursday 28 February, 2.30-4.30 Semester 1
Student Learning (T2) Monday 4 March, 9.30-11.30 Semester 1
Planning a Tutorial (T3) Monday 4 March, 2.30-4.30 Semester 1
Teaching Groups and Individuals (T4) Thursday 14 March, 2.30-4.30 Semester 1
Dynamics and Diversity (T5) Thursday 21 March, 9.30-11.30 Semester 1
Peer Observation (T6) Flexible Semester 1
Introduction to Wattle for Tutors (T7) Thursday 21 March. 2.30-4.30 Semester 1
Assessment and Marking (T8) Thursday 28 March, 2.30-4.30 Semester 1
Evaluation and Reflective Practice: Online module (T9) Flexible Semester 1
Troubleshooting: The Tutoring Toolkit (T10) Thursday 4 April, 2.30-4.30 Semester 1
     
Setting the Scene (T1) Monday 15 July, 10-12 Winter Intensive
Student Learning (T2) Tuesday 15 July, 2-4 Winter Intensive
Planning a Tutorial (T3) Tuesday 16 July, 10-12 Winter Intensive
Teaching Groups and Individuals (T4) Tuesday 16 July, 2-4 Winter Intensive
Dynamics and Diversity (T5) Thursday 18 July, 10-12 Winter Intensive
Peer Observation (T6) Flexible Winter Intensive
Introduction to Wattle for Tutors (T7) Thursday 18 July, 2-4 Winter Intensive
Assessment and Marking (T8) Friday 19 July, 10-12 Winter Intensive
Evaluation and Reflective Practice: Online module (T9) Flexible Winter Intensive
Troubleshooting: The Tutoring Toolkit (T10) Thursday 1 August, 2-4 Winter Intensive
     
Setting the Scene (T1) Thursday 1 August, 9.30-11.30 Semester 2
Student Learning (T2) Thursday 8 August, 9.30-11.30 Semester 2
Planning a Tutorial (T3) Thursday 15 August, 9.30-11.30 Semester 2
Teaching Groups and Individuals (T4) Thursday 22 August, 9.30-11.30 Semester 2
Dynamics and Diversity (T5) Thursday 29 August, 9.30-11.30 Semester 2
Peer Observation (T6) Flexible Semester 2
Introduction to Wattle for Tutors (T7) Thursday 12 September, 9.30-11.30 Semester 2
Assessment and Marking (T8) Thursday 26 September, 9.30-11.30 Semester 2
Evaluation and Reflective Practice: Online module (T9) Flexible Semester 2
Troubleshooting: The Tutoring Toolkit (T10) Thursday 3 October, 9.30-11.30 Semester 2

 

Teaching and Learning at ANU: Foundations

Teaching and Learning at ANU: Foundations is a course designed for educators who may be relatively new to university teaching, or for established staff that would like to revisit the roots of what constitutes the foundations of university teaching and learning at ANU.

Show Foundations workshop calendar

  • What Makes a Quality Educator? (F1) Explores the core dimensions of professionalism and quality in teaching.
  • Teaching for Learning (F2) Examines how students learn in relation to different approaches to teaching in higher education.
  • Small Group Collaborative Learning (F3) Explores the nature of small group collaborative teaching and its impact on learning.
  • Course Design (F4) Addresses principles of course design (and learning activities) at ANU, using findings from research on what makes an effective course and learning activity.
  • Assessment and Feedback (F5) Delves into ideas and methods of assessment for learning.
  • Inclusive Teaching (F6) Explores how our teaching methods can help achieve equity within ANU and society.
  • Technology-Enhanced Learning (F7) Considers the role technology has upon student learning.
  • Curriculum Design (F8) Looks at the drivers of curriculum design in ANU and the higher education sector.
  • Evaluation of Teaching and Learning (F9) Reviews the processes used at ANU to evaluate teaching and learning, and considers this in light of the continual enhancement of teaching and learning.
  • Your Teaching Philosophy (F10) A capstone module in which participants are invited to consolidate their learning and consider how they can share, illustrate and demonstrate their professionalism in teaching for the purposes of achieving recognition.
  • Postgraduate Supervision (F11)
  • APD Pathway to the EFS (F12) Information session on using reflections from Foundations to create a narrative for the Educational Fellowship Scheme (EFS).

Register for workshops

Please note some workshops may already be fully subscribed.

What Makes a Quality Educator? (F1) Friday 1 February, 9.30-11.30 Semester 1
Teaching for Learning (F2) Friday 8 February, 9.30-11.30 Semester 1
Small Group Collaborative Learning (F3) Friday 15 February, 9.30-11.30 Semester 1
Course Design (F4) Friday 15 February, 2-4 Semester 1
Assessment and Feedback (F5) Friday 1 March, 9.30-11.30 Semester 1
Inclusive Teaching (F6) Friday 15 March, 2-4 Semester 1
Technology-Enhanced Learning (F7) Friday 22 March, 2-4 Semester 1
Curriculum Design (F8) Friday 29 March, 9.30-11.30 Semester 1
Evaluation of Teaching and Learning (F9) Friday 5 April, 9.30-11.30 Semester 1
Your Teaching Philosophy (F10) Friday 12 April, 9.30-11.30 Semester 1
Postgraduate Supervision (F11) Friday 3 May, 9.30-11.30 Semester 1
APD Pathway to the EFS (F12) Friday 10 May, 2-4 Semester 1
     
What Makes a Quality Educator? (F1) Tuesday 23 July, 9.30-11.30 Semester 2
Teaching for Learning (F2) Tuesday 30 July, 9.30-11.30 Semester 2
Small Group Collaborative Learning (F3) Tuesday 6 August, 9.30-11.30 Semester 2
Course Design (F4) Tuesday 13 August, 9.30-11.30 Semester 2
Assessment and Feedback (F5) Tuesday 20 August, 9.30-11.30 Semester 2
Inclusive Teaching (F6) Tuesday 27 August, 9.30-11.30 Semester 2
Technology-Enhanced Learning (F7) Tuesday 3 September, 9.30-11.30 Semester 2
Curriculum Design (F8) Tuesday 10 September, 9.30-11.30 Semester 2
Evaluation of Teaching and Learning (F9) Tuesday 17 September, 9.30-11.30 Semester 2
Your Teaching Philosophy (F10) Tuesday 24 September, 9.30-11.30 Semester 2
Postgraduate Supervision (F11) Tuesday 15 October, 9.30-11.30 Semester 2
APD Pathway to the EFS (F12) Tuesday 22 October, 9.30-11.30 Semester 2

 

Academic Leadership in Teaching and Learning

Academic Leadership in Teaching and Learning comprises of a series of modules that are designed to help participants extend and enrich their repertoire of leadership capabilities.

Show Academic Leadership workshop calendar

  • Models and Theories of Leadership (AL1) The functions and purposes of leadership, outlining alternative models of leadership.
  • A Mindful Approach to Leadership Development (AL2) Discussions focus on the leader as learner, and how to incorporate a mindful approach to leadership development.
  • Putting First Things First in Leadership and Life (AL3) Understand how and why we sometimes act out of alignment with our values, goals and plans.
  • Managing Your Mindset and Emotions (AL4) Reviews your habitual ways of managing, coaching and leading yourself and which self-management practices undermine performance.
  • Understanding the People You Wish to Influence (AL5) Examines the assumptions we make about people and 'what makes them tick', which shapes our understanding of others.
  • Preparing for a Difficult Conversation (AL6) Explores how restrictive mindsets and self-coaching undermine our capacity for being at our best in challenging situations, which may trigger habitual default responses.
  • Persuading People to Change (AL7)  Looks at ways of influencing people through constructive feedback, and by connecting with and evoking feelings - winning hearts as well as minds.
  • Responding Constructively to Resistance and Conflict (AL8) Becoming a conflict competent leader by understanding the reasons for avoidance, resistance or defensiveness.

Register for workshops

Please note some workshops may already be fully subscribed.

Models and Theories of Leadership (AL1) Tuesday 5 March, 12-2 Semester 1
A Mindful Approach to Leadership Development (AL2) Tuesday 12 March, 12-2 Semester 1
Putting First Things First in Leadership and Life (AL3) Tuesday 19 March, 12-2 Semester 1
Managing Your Mindset and Emotions (AL4) Tuesday 26 March, 12-2 Semester 1
Understanding the People You Wish to Influence (AL5) Tuesday 2 April, 12-2 Semester 1
Preparing for a Difficult Conversation (AL6) Tuesday 9 April, 12-2 Semester 1
Persuading People to Change (AL7) Tuesday 7 May, 12-2 Semester 1
Responding Constructively to Resistance and Conflict (AL8) Tuesday 14 May, 12-2 Semester 1
     
Models and Theories of Leadership (AL1 Tuesday 23 July, 12-2 Semester 2
A Mindful Approach to Leadership Development (AL2) Tuesday 30 July, 12-2 Semester 2
Putting First Things First in Leadership and Life (AL3) Tuesday 6 August, 12-2 Semester 2
Managing Your Mindset and Emotions (AL4) Tuesday 13 August, 12-2 Semester 2
Understanding the People You Wish to Influence (AL5) Tuesday 20 August, 12-2 Semester 2
Preparing for a Difficult Conversation (AL6) Tuesday 27 August, 12-2 Semester 2
Persuading People to Change (AL7) Tuesday 3 August, 12-2 Semester 2
Responding Constructively to Resistance and Conflict (AL8) Tuesday 10 August, 12-2 Semester 2

 

Interactive Learning

In 2019 the University will implement an Interactive Learning Project (iLEAP), aimed at enhancing the quality of University learning. The goal of iLEAP is to foster student interactivity, capitalising on the rich diversity we have at ANU, within our student body, amongst lecturers and tutors, and through the use of our high-quality scholarly resources.

Show Interactive Learning workshop calendar

This series of workshops will support the iLEAP project and assist those seeking to transform their practice through the development of interactivity in the classroom. We will explore the theoretical underpinnings of interaction in University classrooms and try out research-based strategies and approaches used to foster interactivity leading to deeper learning. There will also be support for those who are keen to experiment and to document the specific outcomes of approaches in their own courses.

  • Approaches to Interactive Teaching (IL1) Exploring contrasting approaches to Interactive Learning to facilitate interactivity.
  • (IL2) Details TBA
  • (IL3) Details TBA
  • (IL4) Details TBA

Register for a workshop

Please note if workshop is fully subscribed you will be placed on a waiting list.

Interactive Teaching (IL1) Tuesday 12 February, 2-4 Semester 1
Interactive Learning (IL2) Thursday 11 April, 10-12 Semester 1
Interactive Learning (IL3) Friday 10 May, 10-12 Semester 1
Interactive Learning (IL4) Date TBA Semester 1

 

ANU Education Grants

The ANU Education Grants support innovative and creative initiatives and projects linked to improving coursework student learning, and have the potential to be an exemplary institutional and/or individual practice in learning and teaching in higher education. Available workshops are linked below.

Show Education Grants Q&A workshop calendar

Register for workshop

ANU Education Grants: Q&A Workshop Thursday 2 May, 12.30-1.30 2019 Round 2
ANU Education Grants: Q&A Workshop Monday 26 August, 12.30-1.30 2020 Round 1

 

ANU Vice-Chancellor's Awards for Excellence in Education

The Vice-Chancellor's Awards for Excellence in Education celebrate the University's excellence in teaching, supervision, tutoring or demonstrating, and programs. Available workshops are linked below.

Show VC Awards Q&A workshop calendar

ANU Vice-Chancellor's Awards for Excellence in Education: Q&A Information Session Tuesday 3 December, 1-2.30 2020 Nominees
ANU Vice-Chancellor's Awards for Excellence in Education: Q&A Information Session Thursday 19 December, 12.30-2 2020 Nominees